Do babies have to face backwards in car seat?
We recommend the use of rear-facing seats for as long as it is possible. Rear-facing seats provide significant safety benefits to a child if involved in an accident. The law intends that children should travel rear-facing until they are 15 months old.
Why is it safe for babies to face backwards?
That’s because a rear-facing seat spreads the crash force more evenly across the back of the car seat and the child’s body. It also limits the motion of the head, reducing the potential for neck injury, and keeps the child more contained within the shell of the child restraint.
Can my 8 month old sit forward-facing car seat?
Many parents want to know the right age for a forward-facing car seat, but this is not as straightforward as it may seem. Legally, your child can travel in an ECE R44/04 approved car seat facing forward once they are 9 kg, which is approximately age nine months. But don’t be tempted to rush into making the switch.
How much should a baby weigh to face forward in 2021?
When your child has reached the weight to allow the car seat forward-facing, make sure that you tether it to the seat to make it more secure. It is advised that you keep your young child in the forward-facing car seat until they reach the maximum weight listed in the owner’s manual. This can be up to 65 pounds.
Is my child too tall for rear facing?
Contrary to popular belief, this does not mean that the child is too big for the seat. As long as they are within the manufacturer’s height and weight restrictions for their seat, kids should ride rear-facing, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics.
When can I turn my car seat around 2021?
Some parents see turning their child’s seat to forward-facing as a milestone to complete around his first birthday, but the most recent recommendation by the American Academy of Pediatrics advises parents to keep their children rear-facing until they’re at least 2 years old.
How much should you weigh to sit in the front seat?
How many pounds do you have to be to sit in the front seat in California? According to the California Highway Patrol, all children older than eight and taller than four feet nine inches can sit next to the driver. Therefore, California law states that all children must weigh more than 57 pounds.